List of Singly, Doubly and Triply Landlocked States of the United States

Last updated on August 1st, 2021

There are 16 singly landlocked states of the US. Below is a list of these states followed by a list of 10 doubly landlocked states and a triply landlocked state in the country. At the end of the page is the map of the United States that will help you have a view of how the 50 states are placed with respect to each other. 

List of Singly Landlocked States of the United States

SerialState Name (Singly Landlocked)Bordering StateNumber of bordering states
1.ArizonaNevada, New Mexico, Utah, California, Colorado5
2.ArkansasOklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri 6
3.IdahoUtah, Washington, Wyoming, Montana, Nevada, Oregon6
4.KentuckyTennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, Illinois, Indiana, Missouri, Ohio7
5.MichiganOhio, Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, Minnesota (water border)
6.MinnesotaNorth Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin, Iowa, Michigan (water border)5
7.MontanaSouth Dakota, Wyoming, Idaho, North Dakota4
8.NevadaIdaho, Oregon, Utah, Arizona, California5
9.New MexicoOklahoma, Texas, Utah, Arizona, Colorado5
10.North DakotaSouth Dakota, Minnesota, Montana
11.OhioMichigan, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Indiana, Kentucky5
12.OklahomaMissouri, New Mexico, Texas, Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas6
13.PennsylvaniaNew York, Ohio, West Virginia, Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey6
14.TennesseeMississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Virginia, Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Kentucky8
15.VermontNew Hampshire, New York, Massachusetts3
16.West VirginiaPennsylvania, Virginia, Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio5

List of Doubly Landlocked States of the United States

SerialState Name (Doubly Landlocked)Bordering StateNumber of bordering states
1.ColoradoNew Mexico, Oklahoma, Utah, Wyoming, Arizona, Kansas, Nebraska7
2.KansasNebraska, Oklahoma, Colorado, Missouri4
3.IllinoisKentucky, Missouri, Wisconsin, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan6
4.IndianaMichigan, Ohio, Illinois, Kentucky4
5.IowaNebraska, South Dakota, Wisconsin, Illinois, Minnesota, Missouri
6.MissouriNebraska, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Arkansas, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky8
7.South DakotaNebraska, North Dakota, Wyoming, Iowa, Minnesota, Montana6
8.UtahNevada, New Mexico, Wyoming, Arizona, Colorado, Idaho6
9.WisconsinMichigan, Minnesota, Illinois, Iowa4
10.WyomingNebraska, South Dakota, Utah, Colorado, Idaho, Montana6

The Only Triply Landlocked State of the United States is:


United States on the map